icipe Governing Council honours outstanding young scholars

During its annual general meeting held in Nairobi, Kenya, at the end of October, the icipe Governing Council, will consists of globally reknowned scientists, honoured six outstanding postgraduate scholars, currently undertaking their research at the Centre. 


icipe honours in 2015

In 2015, icipe staff members and students received many prestigious external and internal awards and recognitions. A complete list of the awards and awardees is as follows:


icipe Governing Council Student Awards 2015

Xavier Cheseto, a PhD student in the Behavioural and Chemical Ecology Unit (BCEU),  has won the 2015 icipe Governing Council Award for his paper titled: Potential of the desert locust Schistocerca gregaria (Orthoptera: Acrididae) as an unconventional source of dietary and therapeutic sterols, which was published in PloS ONE journal.


David Tchouassi appointed TWAS Young Affiliate

David Tchouassi, a scientist in icipe’s Behavioural and Chemical Ecology Unit (BCEU), has been selected as a Young Affiliate of TWAS, The World Academy of Science, by the organisation’s Regional Office for sub Saharan Africa (TWAS-ROSSA). 


Zeyaur Khan, Leader of the icipe push-pull programme, inducted as a member of TWAS

Prof. Zeyaur Khan, icipe Thomas Risley Odhiambo Distinguished Fellow and leader of the widely-reputed push-pull programme, has been elected a Fellow of TWAS, The World Academy of Sciences (http://twas.ictp.it).