Awards and Recognitions


Zeyaur Khan, Leader of the icipe push-pull programme, inducted as a member of TWAS

Prof. Zeyaur Khan, icipe Thomas Risley Odhiambo Distinguished Fellow and leader of the widely-reputed push-pull programme, has been elected a Fellow of TWAS, The World Academy of Sciences (


Major international prize to push-pull lead scientist, icipe’s Prof Zeyaur Khan

17.03.2015: icipe researcher Prof Zeyaur Khan has won the prestigious Louis Malassis Prize for Outstanding Career in Agricultural Development, awarded on Monday March 16, 2015 during a special session of the 3rd Global Science Conference on Climate-Smart Agriculture in Montpellier, France by the Agropolis Foundation.


Fiona Nelima Mumoki, receives AWARD Fellowship

Received the AWARD Fellowship, a highly competitive, merit-based, career-development programme, which aims to foster and mentor women agricultural scientists across sub Saharan Africa. Fiona was also granted an OWSD Postgraduate Training Fellowship, to undertake PhD studies at the University of Pretoria, South Africa, starting in April 2015.


icipe Director General, Dr Segenet Kelemu receives multiple honours in 2014

In 2014, icipe Director General, Dr Segenet Kelemu was accorded multiple honours from a variety of international organisations.  


Muliru Farmers Conservation Group wins NETFUND Green Innovations Award

a community group based adjacent to Kakamega forest, which is supported by icipe and partners in the mission of improving its members’ llivelihoods while conserving the forest, won two prestigious awards and a training package from the Government of Kenya, funded by the Swedish Government: the overall NETFUND Green Innovations Award, 2014 and the water thematic area NETFUND Gr